First Steps…

I’ve been struggling for a while now trying to come up with an awesome first post to share with you guys. Part of me was/is scared to write anything because it’s so new and different for me and it can end in one of two ways: crash and burn, or complete success. I write this as my 11 month old son is practically running around our living room. It amazes me every time because just three weeks ago, he could barely stand up without  falling over. My first steps weren’t as easy either.

Rewind a few years back when I kept telling myself and everyone around me that I wanted to lose weight… on Monday. I was always waiting for a Monday that never came. It wasn’t until I took a good look in the mirror. I saw more than the 165lbs of flab I tried so hard to ignore. I saw a girl who was unhappy, unhealthy and just overall not making the right decisions in all aspects of her life. That day I swore to change. It wasn’t easy; the meal plans I found online didn’t work for me and I had no idea what I was doing in the gym (thank you to the not so helpful trainers there who didn’t care what I did if I didn’t pay for a session), but I didn’t give up. I made up my own meal plans based off what I liked and watched A LOT of YouTube videos to give me some guidance on how I should be working the different parts of my body. I was able to reach 135lbs and really started taking interest in building muscle for the first time… And then I found out I was pregnant!

Fast forward one year (March 2015 now) and a whole baby later (lol) and I almost slipped into the same loop of excuses. Waiting for Monday’s that never came, this time I tried justifying it with “Oh well it’s alright, I have a newborn at home, I’m allowed to let myself go a bit”. The one person you can’t fool is yourself, and again I knew I wasn’t happy. This time I needed a little push. I found an awesome gym buddy to hold me accountable until I was able to get back my groove. And that I did. I’m now 133lbs and putting on more muscle everyday!

Those first steps were hard, and the steps after that aren’t easy either, but the change you see in your body and your attitude is too addicting you never want to stop. My “journey” hasn’t even started yet. Currently I’m mentally, physically, emotionally, and financially (lol) preparing to be a NPC Bikini Competitor!

I am not a personal trainer or nutritionist (yet), and I definitely don’t know everything there is to know about the two, but I hope that along the way, and for a long time after, I can be the motivation and support to any and everyone trying to reach their goals. Let’s get fit together!

Leave a Reply

